Some local languages are becoming extinct. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Local languages describe the essence of a region. Many local languages are fading away as more and more people started adopting the universal language i.e. English. I believe local dialect must always be remembered and promoted along with the universal language as it keeps people closer to their roots. On one hand, with the advent of globalization people must adopt English to keep themselves up to date with the world. Therefore, it requires individuals to focus more on the universal language as a result most of the education in the world is given in English. It is very unfortunate as this development has resulted in lessening the importance of one's ancestral dialect. For instance, India is a diverse country with more than 18 languages, after independence Indians happen to adopt English more than their first dialect due to the universal acceptance of the English. On the other hand, the local language is the reflection of one's art and history which creates an unbreakable bond between fellow localities. One must adopt the change and keep up to date with the world especially in this era of modernization, however, one must also remember its roots, practice and history as it is what makes them whole. A person is judged based on his/her values and values are something that is within oneself hence, ignoring the mother tongue will only result in a person without culture which is nothing less than a person without values. At last, the extinction of the local language is the result of ignorance or redundant towards one's on history, culture and values hence, it is not a good development for any region or country. To prevent this, the government must promote local languages along with universal language by using the local language in certain sections of administration.