Young children should be punished in the same way as adults if they commit a serious crime (such as a violent attack or a robbery). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Punishment is a legal way in many countries to help criminals to recover from their wrong actions. Young children who have seriously broken the law with violence and stealing should receive the same sentence as adults. In my opinion, children should not be judged as adults because they cannot see all the consequences of their actions as well as they can be badly influenced by others if they go to jail. Young children do not have the capacity to really understanding their acts. They do not have enough life experience to discern how an action like attacking someone or stealing a good can cause damage to others. For instance, some children steal items from others because they cannot understand what is personal property. That is, they do a genuine action in order to have fun and not to break the law. That is why I disagree that children should not receive punishments just like adults. Children would not also be able to spend many years or months in reclusion. They would be involved with other real criminals that could influence their way of thinking to a bad perspective. These criminals could use them as a way to do many wrong things inside the jail. This would allow these children to be part of a crew just to have the feeling of family and protection during their sentence. Moreover, the main reason for punishment is to recover the ability of a criminal to live in a society without breaking laws. Therefore, instead of recovering children from doing wrong actions, this would lead them to real-life crime after their sentence. To conclude, children should not receive punishment in the same way as adults because they can not see the results of their actions while they are just children. They could also be badly influenced by other criminals making them bad people while they are in jail. That is why I totally reject the idea of children receiving a sentence on the same level as an adult.