Supermarkets shoul only sell food produced within their own country. What are your opinions about it.

There is a contentious argument over whether stores should exclusively offer local goods for their clients instead of bringing it from abroad. In this essay, I will examine why I believe this behaviour can be harmful to a country's economy and also why this can take then out of the market. The main reason why I believe that this behaviour is that it is detrimental to their economical situation. At large, domestic goods are considered costly in comparison to international ones especially when it comes to staples crops. Therefore, when a store has decided to avoid selling international goods it is harming the local economy as a great part of their products are not produced inside their own country due to the globalization. For instance, it is known that China has become the greatest provider of pork meat in the world, as a result,there is a high chance that the supermarket run out of meat if maintain the idea to not offer international goods. Another reason that I support the notion that this is not worth is that they are reducing peoples' variety. As aforementioned, when consumers do not find specific goods that are produced from abroad they tend to after it in other places. To illustrate, nowadays, it is feasible to people find absolutely anything on the internet; thus, if any chain store decides to no sell international goods it will be out of the market since it is unavoidable that the consumers would order it from internet, probably with half of the price in comparison to local goods. In conclusion, It is not valuable to a supermarket or any chain store to sell exclusively local good as it would harm the local consumers, as they would migrate for another source of purchases especially when it comes to the internet.