Junk/Street Food is the most affordable meal for the working class. But health problems due to rampant and uncontrolled consumption are being compounded. It has therefore become imperative for governments to impose a higher tax on them. To what extent do you agree to this arrangement by the government? Give your opinion.

Diseases like obesity have been progressively spreading due to unrestricted intake of junk food by working citizens. For these reasons, the government has considered it important to increase tax rates for these sort of foods. In my opinion, I believe this idea will not provide effective results in order to curb the uncontrolled consumption of junk food. To embark upon, street food acts as an alternative for home-cooked food especially for working people staying in rental accommodations. The first and foremost reason for preferring it is its cheap cost and easy availability. Therefore, higher taxation for it might unable working-class people from having sufficient food to it. Additionally, the cost of living in cities for work-force is already expensive enough, inflating food prices might force them to quit their jobs due to unable to afford daily basic needs. Hence, for these reasons, this step of the government has been opposed by the majority of people. Conversely, viewing the rise in health problems like obesity especially among youth, there are other ways which can be followed to eradicate it. Firstly, certain nations have launched campaigns like healthy meals for employees at work with proper nutrition and hygiene level. For instance, in India,every organisation provides home-cooked food at very affordable prices to each member working there keeping their safety and health in mind. Additionally, the government can issue health and safety guidelines to be followed by every organisation including fitness facilities in order to create ahealthy environment for the employers and employees. To conclude, instead of overburdening people with higher taxes in order to reduce rampant and uncontrolled consumption. The administration is available with ample other options to curb health diseases compounded by such habits as providing healthy working infrastructure for every individual working in an organisation.