In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.?

Recently the crime rate has been surging in many countries. This rapid increase has also had an impact on the community due to i ncreased rate of incarceration. The main cause for this spike in crime may be attributed to inequality and unemployment. Government and law enforcement should focus on bridging the gap instead of punishment. The main causes of crime in most countries are economic inequality, lack of education and unemployment. Economic inequality is often cited as the main driver of crime in a society. Several countries have a very large portion of the populace that are below the proverty line and are thus unable to support themselves and their families. For example, in a country like India a significant portion of the citizens are unable to afford 3 meals a day. This causes desperation and discontent among the people and causes an increase in crime. Several studies have shown that improving economic equality has a huge impact in reducing crime rates. Economic disparity may be reduced by increasing emplyment rates, providing basic necessities at a subsidised rate and improving public infrastructure to reduce private spending. The government could increase employment rates by investing in public infrastructure projects and provide basic food stuffs to citizens to ensure minimum viable living conditions. In India, the public distribution system has been very successful in providing essential provisions at subsidised prices on a monthly basis. In summary, addressing issues of unavailability and inequality in the community would be the best approach to reducing crime. The main cause for this spike in crime may be attributed to inequality and unemployment. It is evident that any country that prioritises equality and employment would go a long way in reducing criminal acts.