In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Nowadays, High-speed inter-city trains are a common sight in Asia, including South-East Asia countries. Due to these rail networks' success, an increasing number of people believe that constructing new railway lines of this type is essential. On the other hand, there is a group who hold the view that the money would be better invested in upgrading existing public transport infrastructure. Those who stand for connecting cities via high-speed trains believe that a modern society needs an advanced and affordable transport system. In other words, these transport systems allow people to travel quickly and cheaply, which is desirable in terms of economic growth and social connection. By reducing the cost and travel time, people will be more able to conduct business and visit relatives than they had in the past when they needed to afford a plane ticket or endure a long and uncomfortable journey by bus or slow train. However, the opponents argue that existing public transport should be improved before embarking on a high-speed train project. One of the reasons is that day-to-day public transport is a more immediate problem. Old buses pollute the air, while their degraded transportation conditions make people unwilling to ride them, which only worsens traffic congestion and air pollution in major cities. Therefore, this issue should be fixed before any large-scale nationwide project is undertaken. To conclude, while having cities connected by a modern high-speed rail network indeed brings many benefits, improving public transportation as it exists today should be the priority as this will have a more immediate and measurable advantage for citizen's life.