Some people today believe that the world’s increase in population is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Other people believe that world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world’s economy and society. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In the present era, the global population has undoubtedly increased at an exponential rate. While some proponents argue that such numbers would create a negative impact on the global economy, I agree with those who argue that this is crucial and beneficial for the world and its people. A large body of research suggests that a substantial increase in the number of people around the world would deplete its natural resources, and thus leading to a food shortage crisis. This is because a growing economy would require a significant amount of nutrition, which is crucial for the growth of its people, and the food manufacturing industries can provide the demand only up to a certain point. Hence, they may need to increase their production rate to higher quantities, and it is well-known that such a process would compromise the quantity. For instance, due to the demand of cheese around the world, companies have to manufacture more processed varieties, which are known to be unhealthy, in order to fulfil the need. If we opt for the natural option, then it would demand more time which ultimately increases the cost of production, and as a result, most of such industries would have to ignore such an option. However stronger argument seems to be on the other side which states that several developed and low-populated countries are demanding more skilled workforce in order to compensate for its growing economy. This is because a slow rate in the growth of population would not meet its country’s requirement for the skilled workforce. Taking Canada as an example, the country has significantly increased its immigration rates over recent years and is providing citizenships to people who are willing to permanently move there. As an outcome, recession increases which could potentially help in identifying and resolving global problems like food depletion. In conclusion, albeit there are some drawbacks in the increase of the global population, I strongly believe that the benefits easily outweigh them.