Studies have shown that in many countries the income gap between the rich and poor is ever increasing. What problems can arise from this situation and what could be done to address this situation?

Research has revealed that the rift between the wealthy and financially weak class of the society is expanding. This essay will initially explore the negative issues associated with this trend and in the latter part, considerable solutions will be discussed. To begin with, a large gap between the rich and low-income families in society creates an imbalance which could possibly be a factor for the rise of crime and violence. To elaborate, if the phenomenon of rich getting richer and poor getting poorer continues to be in a nation then the people living below the poverty line could opt for the illegal acts such as robbery, kidnapping, corruption etc. Moreover, it can lead to the destabilization of the country if the people revolt against the governments. For example, in Nigeria, poverty increased so much that some people revolted against the government which led to a civil war. Considering the above issues, we can think of some feasible solutions, firstly, the governments should encourage the people to start small business ventures and secondly, there should be some schemes and policies that will enhance the growth of the small scale industries in a nation. To further explain, if the low budget trading establishments are given proper care, then it could help in the booming of the industrial sector in the country, hence increasing the living standards of the common people by providing jobs and trade opportunities. For instance, governing bodies in our state started various programmes focusing on youth to have their own startups and surprisingly, it proved to be a constructive step as numerous people got livelihood. To conclude, the enlarging void between the financially sound and weak section of the community can have a negative impact on its governance establishment as well as it could give birth to a number of outlaws. Despite this increasing detrimental issue, there are several measures that policy-makers can take such as entrepreneurship development programmes and subsidies on business loans to tackle it.