Increasing the prices of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What measures you think would be effective ?

With the ease in lease terms by the bank nowadays, everyone is able to own private vehicles. This has resulted in an increase in traffic congestion and long travel time along with the rise in harmful gases which contribute to pollution. Some people suggest that increase in petrol charge would mitigate this problem, however, some are in denial. This essay will discuss the probability of controlling these problems by increasing the prices of fuel. On the one hand, the increasing prices of petrol do not tend to bother a few people as they believe travelling in their own vehicle is far more convenient than travelling by any other means. This is because they find it a hectic task to buy tickets for public transport. Moreover, they believe there is no huge difference in the prices of fuel and the fares of these public transports. For example, a recent survey conducted by the Michigan University stated that there is only a 3% rate differential between the price of gasoline and public transport fares. On the other hand, the high fuel cost is considered by many as the best solution to solve the growing traffic congestion problem which will eventually result beneficial for the environmental well being as well. For example in Japan, people prefer to use trams and subways for travelling to their offices rather than using their own cars. People believe that the use of public transportation plays an important role in this regard and hence, the rise in fuel price with the reduction in the fees of public transportation would lead people to travel through it instead of their own vehicles. The government can solve this problem by introducing cheap price schemes for buses and trains. Moreover, providing discounts on travel card subscription will attract people to use these for their routine commutation. To conclude, increasing cost is not the only solution to resolve such problems. In my opinion, measures taken by the government to tackle the growth in traffic and pollution issues would impact largely overall in the long run.