Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Global sporting events are the representation of culture, heritage and relationships between the participating countries. The majority of the people believes this and the others feel that as an unnecessary expense to the organising nation. I completely agree with the idea of considering it as a greater opportunity by showcasing the strength and beauty of the hosting nation. This essay will explain it with supporting ideas and examples. On one hand, hosting of an international sports event is a matter of humongous effort and expensive deal. To explain in detail, it needs greater planning and execution in coordination with all the participating countries and taking their consents. In addition, it needs a greater amount of funds for a hosting nation to spend for organising the boarding and lodging of the players. Moreover, the security of the players and visitors is one of the biggest aspects that need to be taken into consideration. For instance, the recent Olympic event organised by Beijing has cost them a ton of billion dollars to manage without any hindrances and threats. In short, Its a huge expense to the hosting nation to keep up the things as planned. On the other hand, global sporting events boost up the pride, heritage and culture of the nations that are conducting the games. To be more precise, it gathers multicultural people at a place to exchange their cultures with their counterparts, which eventually increases the relationship between the countries. Consequently, it helps to strengthen the bond between nations, which subsequently leads to foreign direct investments and also the growth of the tourism industry. As a result, it boosts the individual nation's economy and GDP. For example, recently conducted cricket world cup event has brought greater investments, which increased the hosting counties GDP by 2 per cent. In conclusion, while some people believe that organisation of international sporting events are a waste of money, Positive impact of these events substantially overweigh the negatives. Hence, I completely agree with the idea of treating this as an outstanding opportunity, as they add tremendous value to the hosting nation.