Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, the government is becoming more versatile in terms of investing in different sectors such as sports. While many opine that the government should support the sports industry by offering them the requisite funding to become more successful on the international soil others oppose this view with an opinion that money should be spent on the betterment of the general public. I completely agree with the thought of encouragement of the sports industry by the government and my reason can be seen in the below paragraphs. The first reason is that it can bring pride to the nation at an international level. To elaborate, by providing sufficient monetary support to the sports industry we can ensure that our players are well trained as per the current market and subsequently can perform their best in the international tournaments. For example, with the help of the government's money, the sports organizations can appoint the best coaches for the players and thereby, making the play with the best techniques. Another benefit is that it can attract a large number of international sponsorship opportunities. Moreover, if our players will become popular worldwide, they can attract many foreign brands to invest in them. To illustrate, the world-famous football player Ronald is the brand ambassador of more than 1000 international brands and therefore has become a gateway of foreign currency for its country. To conclude, I completely, concur with the view that sports are as crucial as education, healthcare, tourism sector for the development of an economy and the government should provide its full support for making this segment grow.