Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays there are tons of different websites on the Internet which provide their users with a marvellous opportunity to download their favourite songs, pictures or videos absolutely free of charge. However, many people claim that it is a negative phenomenon since content creators do not profit from publishing their products on those platforms online. In my essay, I would like to present a few arguments in favour of posting the original material on the Internet and allowing to use it without any need to pay for it. To begin with, the World Wide Web has made it possible for thousands of its consumers to share whatever they desire with other people online, no matter in which part of the globe they live. Consequently, different writers, performers, singers and other creative people can show their works to a huge audience on the Internet without any necessity to spend money on organizing real-life exhibitions or concerts. In my opinion, it is an amazing chance to develop one’s talent by means of receiving some feedback from other art appreciators online. Secondly, a great many celebrities have become popular due to publishing their creations on social media since the Internet is an excellent way of finding and building one’s target audience. For example, Justin Bieber, who is now a renowned singer, started his career with the help of his YouTube channel which brought him massive popularity. Finally, content creators can benefit greatly from enabling users to download their material without charge because of the built-in advertisement which is often employed by various websites. Judging from my experience, modern companies tend to spend vastly on promoting their products online because it is quite inexpensive and effective. In conclusion, although a widespread of free-to-download music, books or other forms of art has caused heated debates amid its opponents, its advantages cannot be underestimated. All in all, content creators should be more flexible and willing to publish their works online and authorizing numerous viewers to access it gratuitously.