The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compare to the past due to advanced technologies which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

With the recent development of technologies, enormous changes have taken place in human lives as public safety. Some people argue that the crime rate is declining compared to before thanks to state-of-the-art technologies. I believe the number of crimes using the latest technologies is increasing. One of the reasons why I believe the crime rate is rising is that there is more computer fraud nowadays. People can purchase various kinds of items through the website but some cannot receive the ordered goods properly as malicious sellers cleverly utilize this trading method to make a profit. For instance, according to the police reports, there are many cases that buyers purchased iPhones on the internet sites but the product boxes did not include the actual phones even though they have already paid the money. Another reason is that people easily obtain illegal drugs using the internet. This method is getting common because there are lower risks to be arrested for criminals because the police officers are difficult to pinpoint the person and route by which they infiltrated compared to face-to-face sales. For example, there is a case of a marijuana user in the US smuggled it from the UK. Developed technologies such as social media enable drug sellers and users who live all over the world to connect with each other without meeting in person, which helps uses to trade illegal drugs casually. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the crime rate showing a decrease trend thanks to the advanced technologies since more people commit crimes such as fraud and illegal possession of drug misusing cutting-edge technologies.