Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

To improve the overall well-being of the public, a section of the society considers physical activity in form of sports very vital. However, a few argue that this would have no significant effect on the well-being of the community and therefore other measures need to be explored. In my opinion, other factors need to be considered in order to improve public health. On one hand, sports such as running, football, volleyball, netball, swimming, to mention but a few, have been linked to the eradication of numerous energy problems like high cholesterol, hypertension and obesity. Because of this observation, physical education has been included in the syllabus of all primary schools in Uganda. I believe that participating in sports has contributed to better fitness among participants. Still, physical exercises alone can not be the major attribute to a healthier person. On the other hand, I suggest that strength comes from a collective effort concerning lifestyle changes, eating habits and physical exercise. For instance, a number of medical practitioners have recommended a combination of the above three so that the fitness of their patients is improved. In fact, strength has always been related to what people eat; this has been shown in Netflix documentaries like 'Heal' that relate eating habits to general health. Another well-known scientist,Hippocrates, suggested that 'let food be thy medicine'. This clearly indicates that sports are likely not the major key to public health. To conclude, it is my perspective that physical exercise in form of sports is beneficial for the well-being of the community. Nonetheless, the energy of the public depends on other numerous factors which need to be researched and considered.