People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

Some people argue that for the diminishing crime rate the excellent way is to stay offenders at a prison for a longer time period. Others say that different solutions can also be applied to tackle this issue. While the prolonged amount of time at prison hugely impacts on other offenders making them think twice before their action, I believe, that providing by a prison of regular rehabilitation programs is able even more influence the society as well as the criminal activity in a positive way. On the one hand, if the rules had made stricter it would have influenced significantly other potential convicts, who are thinking either to do criminal actions or not. Non-sure people, who have just started to think about their doings may become scared about the possible time being arrested. Thus, a report recently commissioned in Russia estimates that after the punishment for domestic violence was doubled in time in the 2018 year, the number of offenders has been declined to roughly 10% less than in years before the law refreshment. On the other hand, introducing the rehabilitation programs on a regular base is able to tackle the issue of the criminal rate from the long-term perspective. Rehabilitation programs can have a private format focused on a certain type of criminals. Programs aim to make offenders better citizens and suggest a chance to get the education or vocational training. Rehabilitated prisoners are considered less likely to be re-offend. To illustrate, the system of prisons in most of the states of the USA has already worldwide rewarded by other authorities for its results of downward the crime rate. Due to the implementation of rehabilitation programs since the 1900s the number of those who become re-offered sharply dropped to approximately 15%. To conclude, criminal isolation for a prolonged time span is able to become a trigger for others desired to commit a crime not to do so. However, there is another way to reduce crime using the regular rehabilitation programs, which influence both the society as well as criminals themselves, encouraging to become them better people.