Increasing number of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

In recent times, a lot of students are choosing foreign countries for their studies. However, there are many merits associated with it as the students can get an in-depth knowledge of the subjects which they want to pursue and contribute to the economy of the country. While there are some demerits associated with it like adjusting with the living standards, language problems and spending large sums of money. To commence with, the main reason why students wish to pursue studies abroad is to broaden their understanding of the subject they have chosen. They want to learn new skills and upgrade themselves with the digital world which creates a huge demand for them in the global market. With such skills they also contribute to the economy of the country by bringing foreign clients which leads to an increase in foreign investments, thus generating higher revenue. As a result, they can easily become global players and can earn huge amount of money. For instance, in an article published in Times of India, it has been found that more than 60% of the students in India wish to study abroad according to a survey conducted, for the purpose of up-gradation of their skills and to enter the global market. Furthermore, many students wish to study abroad with the intension of expanding their family businesses or for initiating a start-up business which is also itself a good idea. On the other hand, there are many demerits associated with studying abroad. Firstly, the students face difficulties with adjusting to the country’s living standards and understand their culture. It takes a lot of time for them to come into a disciplined life and do all the things on their own as there will be nobody to help them and also getting accustomed to their culture. Secondly, there is a language problem in English speaking countries like England, USA as well as non-English speaking countries like France, Germany. Students find it difficult at first to catch the accent of the native speakers in the English-speaking countries while on the other hand,it is difficult for them to understand the language in non-English speaking countries as they are not known to the language. Therefore, they have to make extra efforts to learn a new language. Lastly, they spend a lot of money on their education abroad as it is very costly. Thus, they work hard by doing part-time jobs or finding a full-time job for the speedy recovery of the amount spent. To summarise, although a huge number of students wish to study abroad for enhancing their skills to enter the global market or growing their businesses, they also come across many difficulties like problems related to the language and culture of the country and investing huge sum of money which they have to recover in due course of time.