Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to preoccupy themselves. Discuss both these views and and give your opinion.

A section of society believes that parents should encourage their children to take part in scheduled group activities during their free time. However, others instead suggest that children should study how to make themselves busy. This trend has become common in this modern era where different technologies like video games and tablets are used during an extra period. In my opinion, I believe that there should be a scheduled programme for children to adequately spend their time. In this article,I intend to explain both views. On one hand, taking part in organized group activities opens up the mind of the youth. As a result, they will become more creative; this will also improve their social and teamwork abilities; for example, they will understand how to work with others and appreciate the benefits of serving as a team such as cleaning assignments, research work, making crafts, to mention but a few. This generally improves the youth. In addition, they are easily monitored in a group; for instance, the organizers track the progress of each group; this creates room for correction if needed by the youth; hence engaging kids in group activities is beneficial. On the other hand, kids learning how to occupy their time can help them become more independent because they will not be pressurized by anyone to complete a task. This, in turn, will make them more responsible later in their adult life. This responsibility is vital to take up big careers such as political and managerial positions. Still, they can not be left unsupervised at a very tender age. In conclusion, it is my perspective that organized group activities are better for kids because they are very young to be left without guidance; thus the youth should not be left to figure out what to do with this extra period.