People are usually confronted with huge amount of advertisements in their life from competing companies. How do you think the advertising industry influences people? And what measures can be adopted to counter the risks of disastrous effects?

It is known that individuals are burdened by numerous promotions on platforms such as the television, telephone applications and social media. This has come as a result of competition for customers from a number of enterprises like KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken), Jumia online shopping and Cafe javas. In my perspective, I believe that these adverts have a negative impact on people. In this article, I intend to elaborate these demerits and outline a few solutions to counteract these dangerous effects. To begin with, frequent adverts especially on social media are usually annoying when an individual is not interested in the product or service; for instance, recently there have been frequent pop-ups of promotions of the National Resistance Movement political party on Facebook, twitter, snapchat and Instagram; this is not fair because not every user supports this political party. Consequently, this will make the users lose moral of these social media platforms. In addition, promotions of games can encourage someone to download the game; to cite an example, candy crush had been made attractive to an extent that all advert viewers end up downloading candy crush. As a result, a lot of time is wasted playing making the player less constructive on other duties. Despite, the above disadvantages, promotions can be controlled by limiting the time; to illustrate, facebook does not show an adverse for more than five seconds; this has given the viewers a chance to understand the advert without getting nagged by the waste of time. Furthermore, adverts are given depending on the likes of an individual; for example, a test research is carried out prior and the promotions displayed are based on the results of the research. This has been adopted by facebook and twitter.