Nowadays, people prefer to shop in supermarkets rather than local stores. What are the reasons behind it? Is it a negative or positive development?

Some people adhere to the view that supermarkets remain to be the primary choice for shopping instead of local stores. I completely agree with such a notion, because supermarkets are way more convenient than local stores. This is marked by the enormous choices they offer. That, in turn, can reduce the need to transfer from one store to another to complete the items on the shopping list. Furthermore, having been owned by massive companies, these supermarkets possess a massive variety of products; both from local and international merchants. With this, customers can have the opportunity to purchase their preferred brands. Moreover, shopping in a supermarket can conserve your energy; since numerous shopping carts are available, making shopping easier and faster. Additionally, the costs of products are way far cheaper than those of the local stores, making buying in bulk is possible. In addition to that is the fact that perishable items sold in supermarkets undergo rigid routine inspections. This is to ensure quality so as to secure the health and safety of the consumers. Apart from its convenience, this type of shopping establishment opens tremendous job offers. That is because supermarkets are comprised of massive merchandise from various companies. Hence, a considerable number of individuals should be employed to fill in the necessary positions. Consequently, an increase in the employment rate in a city can significantly assist in its economic progress. As an addition to that, an efficient economy might invite other investors, aiding to its continuous growth. In my experience, I find it very convenient to purchase from supermarkets. For someone like me who shops for groceries on a monthly basis, a supermarket might be the most suitable place for a one-stop-shop experience, because it can tremendously conserve time, energy and money; aside from the assurance of buying high-quality goods. In conclusion, I believe that supermarkets are more preferred than the local store because of its pleasant ambience, the extensive range of product choices and the quality of its goods and services.