In the past shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

In this modern era, purchasing of goods is considered as a leisure-time activity for many consumers in comparison to the past times. In my opinion, it is not a positive activity as individuals spend money on products which is of no use to them leading to wastage of their money. To commence with, the reason why people consider shopping as their hobby is due to the advent of online shopping. In this digitalised era, each and every individual have mobile phones and laptops. Therefore, in their free times they go through surfing their desired products on shopping websites like Myntra, Flipkart, Amazon and soon it becomes an addiction to them because of the benefits associated with it like getting the quality products at cheaper prices with just a click on their electronic devices without making any efforts travelling to the shops. Moreover, if there are different discounts on sales at festive seasons like the End of Season Sale, Diwali Sale, individuals purchase goods at bulk and therefore it becomes a past time activity for them. For instance, in India,more than 70% of the individuals use to purchase goods at bulk during festive seasons to avail the discounts and other benefits associated with it. On the other hand, with regards to shopping being the consumers past time activity, the consumers spend large sums of money on buying the products which are of no use to them. As it became their addiction, they buy products which seems fancy on the websites and also they keep some of the products as showpieces in their homes. As a result, individuals are not able to save money and there have been situations where most individuals have gone bankrupt. Therefore, it is a negative trend because if it continues on a long-term basis, then there may come a time where people will be gaining nothing. Thus, people should take care of their spending behaviour and do not treat shopping as their leisure-time activity. To summarise, although a huge number of people enjoy doing shopping, it should not become their addiction because as a consequence of it, people are purchasing unnecessary products which are of no use to them leading to wastage of their hard-earned money.