We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that we should focus on our own communities that need help, instead of assisting other countries. I disagree with this point of view because I think we should help as many people as possible. On the one hand, it is true that supporting our neighbourhoods and citizens is important. In many communities, there are people who have living problems in some ways, such as lacking clothes and food. For example, homeless people could be found even in the wealthiest city, and there are some easy ways to help by doing voluntary jobs or giving money. In Canada, people can help their neighbours in a variety of ways, from donating wearings to serving free food in the community centre. As the problems are on our doorstep and clear ways to help, I can understand why some people feel that concerning our own countries is most important. On the other hand, I believe that we have an obligation to help the nation in difficulty. In some countries, the people have been facing serious problems for a long time, compared with ours. Massive amounts of children, for instance, are dying from diseases and starvation in Africa. Governments and individuals in rich countries can save lives simply by paying for vaccines which already exist and food. A small donation to an international charity might have a much stronger impact than helping our local area. In conclusion, I believe that we should concern the people who are in need in other nations while helping local communities.