Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits or disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In this present day, mankind is always on the lookout to venture out to locations where the conditions aren't always suitable for his body. His idea of a vacation is comparatively different when compared to people of the past. In this essay, I would like to talk about the advantages of such trips. Firstly, tourism is one of the key revenue generators especially for locations that are challenging and not human-friendly. It could be places where there is extreme heat or where the temperatures dip to minus zero degrees for the most part of the year. Human beings are always on the look-out for some adventure and hence, they land up in such places. On the other hand, these have created jobs for the locals who stay around these places. It helps the government in tourism. Secondly, these places provide an opportunity for school children or even college students to see it in person and be able to have a better understanding of it. For example, I always listened to lectures or even watched movies about the Thar desert in India but I clearly never understood how this place is in reality until recently, when my wife and I went on our anniversary trip to one of the deserts in India. In addition, I could also experience the harsh weather conditions which I had only heard off. To summarize, there are positives to take back when people visit these places. No doubt enough precautions have to be taken and there are certain drawbacks for people with health issues. Despite all the odds, I think traveling to certain places will help you to appreciate and respect this beautiful world.