In today's competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents' absence. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Nowadays, many families have dual sources of income. Some people have argued that if both husbands and wives go out to work, that will be of benefit to their children, while others believe that children will be affected due to lack of parental support. This essay will discuss both sides and I believe this situation can affect children both positively and negatively. Children will gain numerous benefits when both parents are income earners for a number of reasons. First, the extra income will amount to a better standard of living. For instance, children whose parents are high- income earners often attend the best educational environment. Also,they have access to a lot of educational devices that can help their learning. Another advantage of dual sources of income is that children from such homes are able to enjoy their life by travelling abroad, going on holidays and affording things they need. On the other hand, some people believe that children are affected and may face some problems due to this kind of family. In fact, most parents are not usually available to their children. The busy workload at workplaces can cause adverse implications to parents’ emotional states and thus affects their families. For example, when parents are stressed with their work, they decide to ignore their children and let them do what they want, which may lead to an imbalance between the parents and children’s relationship. Children, as a result, without the care of parents, may get involved in crime easily or be alcoholic. In conclusion, I believe that we cannot change the fact that parents have to work but if parents make time for their children in the evenings or at the weekends, then the children will not suffer emotionally. By both parents working, there will be an extra income and a much higher standard of living, which brings benefits to the whole family.