Housing and accommodation has become a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the main factors that have contributed to this problem? What can be done to help reduce the number of homeless people?

Inadequacy of human shelter has become a significant problem worldwide. There are many factors that contribute to this issue. The scarcity of resources, that is available land for housing and expanding population are the main causes. This easy will discuss further this global impact of lack of housing with possible solutions which can be implemented by the authorities. To begin with, insufficiency of the resources (available land for development of residential buildings) is one of the main causes for this housing crisis, particularly in metropolitan City areas. In other words, owing to rapid industrialisation, more and more trade buildings are being constructed. As a consequence, cities get congested and become overcrowded. Moreover, these industrialised areas expand and encroach the green belt of the city as well. In order to solve this problem of limited land for residential buildings, the authorities can consider the construction of vertical cities instead of horizontals. As a result of this more free lands will be preserved. Furthermore, the congestion can be reduced by moving industrial buildings such as factories out of the metropolitan areas towards non-residential areas. The second reason that is considered in this essay which leads to the shortage of housing is the explosion of population. Owing to the development of health, the life expectancy of the population has increased and the proportion of the elderly population has increased. With the growing population, demand for the resources(houses and land) also got increased causing difficulty in fulfilment of that demand. Subsequently, this has led to a limitation of housing and accommodation for the citizens. In order to solve ti's, controlling the population should be considered by the authorities and resources can be easily distributed among the population. China is the most salient example of this and the Chinese government has enforced a rule to limit one child for a family and successfully managed the problem. In conclusion, scarcity of housing and accommodation is a global problem and limited resources, as well as expanding population, are the major causes of this.By proper planning of city construction and by controlling the population this problem can be controlled.