People after retirement often require financial assistance. Should the government be responsible for this or should the individuals make provisions for themselves? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As human’s lifespans have greatly increased, many retired seniors suffer from financial issues. While some people argue that each citizen should prepare provisions by themselves to mitigate this problem, but I believe that governments should have responsibility for this. Some claim that individuals should prepare their own budgets because governments might not be able to support retired people financially. When emergency cases occur, governments spend their profits on these. For instance, the huge earthquake happened on the eastern side of Japan in 2011, its government used more than 40 per cent of revenue for rebuilding, which brought that the cost of retired seniors’ pensions slightly declined. Furthermore, people can have more fruitful lives since they can freely spend their money. Although the amount of money from governments limited, people can use their money flexibly if they have a lot of savings. However, I believe that governments should help retired people financially because governments have a play a role of providing a secure life for all citizens. If governments do not support financially, many people especially low-income household cannot survive their lives since they do not have saving but their expenditures rise due to medical costs. In addition, it is difficult to live spending all their savings. With increasing life expectancy, people can live a longer period of time without income and therefore, even though people save money before retirement, they need financial aid from governments. In conclusion, while it is true that individuals should prepare post-retirement budgets by themselves, I insist that governments should be responsible for supporting retired people because supporting all citizens is an essential role for governments.