Genetic engineering is an important issue in society. Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways. Others feel that it might be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A section of society believes that genetic engineering will improve people's lives in various ways. However, other individuals insist that it might be harmful to life on earth. In my perspective, I believe that genetic engineering will have a positive impact on the world. In this article, I intend to explain both views of this development in depth. On one hand, genetic engineering will bring about pest-resistant crops; this will increase the crop yields; thus improving the productivity; inevitably, the income from the crop production will be elevated; to cite an example, a research carried out in Korea showed that crop production can be increased to 50% with the help of gene manipulation. In addition, there will be a possibility of removing inheritable diseases; this can be done by eliminating the unwanted genes from the germline; to illustrate, a research carried out in China proved that genetic diseases, such as Parkinson's disease and cystic fibrosis, would be a 100% eliminated by applying genetic engineering. This indicates that genetic manipulation will indeed be of the benefit to society. On the other hand, the ability to extend human life span would make population control impossible; this means that people will live longer than expected which is not practical; consequently, a high population will become a burden to the government resulting to problems like lack of jobs and limited building space. In conclusion, I believe that genetic engineering has numerous advantages and; hence, should be explored. Nevertheless, the government should take stringent precautions in order to control its use and prevent any disastrous outcomes.