University education should be free to everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over recent years, more and more people have been attending university and it has been claimed that students should not pay for this privilege. Although there are convincing arguments on both sides, I tend to believe that it should be free. The argument in favor of charging students is that education is becoming more expensive to fund as universities grow in size. Consequently, making students pay may maintain standards and ensure the quality of the teaching. At the same time, charging students also helps alleviate the economic burden on governments. However, there are a number of arguments in favor of making university education free for all. Firstly, it will encourage more people to attend and this will benefit society. This is because it will lead to a more productive and educated workforce. Research has generally shown that those countries that have a better educated population via university have higher levels of innovation and productivity. In addition, there is the issue of equality of opportunity. If all students are required to pay, those on a low income may be dissuaded from attending, thus making it unfair. The reason for this is that they will likely not be able to secure financial support from their family so they will be concerned about the debts they will incur in the future. In conclusion, I am of opinion that all education should remain equally available to all regardless of income. This is not only fair, but will also ensure that countries can prosper and develop into the future with a well-educated workforce.