In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything in they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some civilizations have a trend where they are frequently that it is easy for them to attain anything they strive for. This message has certain benefits for children such as they can have a particular direction in their life and achieve a better career. However, some find it offensive to get advice from elders and fell astray. To bring children in a specific direction to acquire their goal, the adults often guide their youngsters that working hard is a key to success. Working day and night towards a set goal can bring their efforts towards a specific direction and hence, can be of great benefit for their futures. For example, parents advice their children to burn the midnight oil to get admission in medical college which can eventually, lead them to a better lifestyle. On the other hand, there are certain disadvantages of these recurrent warnings. Some children find it annoying for them to constantly hear their advice regarding the study. As a result of which they tend to study even less than they used to. For instance, it is observed that children have a habit of not listening to their parents when they are constantly told to study for long hours which is therefore, a disadvantage at both ends. They usually make foul friendships and waste their times in gaming or other useless activities. In conclusion, when it is advised to children to work to their maximum for a set goal can lead them to a good career but sometimes, it proves to be harmful to their future as they find it rather difficult to hear from elders all the times and instead of studying, they end up wasting their time in other activities.