“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

It is no doubt that the prevention of a disease is a much cheaper and viable option than looking to cure by research and treatments. In my opinion, I firmly agree that preventative measures should be the first consideration of any illness other than any expensive options. A good reason to promote preventing steps is that it would provide self-care knowledge to people about themselves. In other words, when humans get to know about the reasons for the preventive measures and why it is important, it would make themselves more knowledgeable towards personal safety and self-aware. This will definitely lead to better outcomes for both individuals and society as a whole. Another point to consider is that when doctors and scientists come up with a cure after their findings from the disease, it may not be helpful for all human DNAs, which can lead to long term side effects. Moreover, these unaffected cures can cause life-threatening problems to many generations and could make children diable from birth. Finally, when researchers work on the treatment for any health problem, they consume a big fortune of people’s money that could be spent on other important fields, such as, education and physical sports. For example, the recent COVID-19 virus, which has consumed a very large portion of wealth from many countries’ public budgets and put them in the financial crisis, just to create its vaccine. This problem is severe in developing and underdeveloped countries. In conclusion, preventive steps must be taken by the authorities, due to its value and results, to stop the diseases rather than spending big money in research and treatments that could lead to financial crisis and more health problems.