Some parents say that children should play individually more than in a group. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Playing for children plays a significant role in their development. While I admit that there are a couple of benefits to playing alone for children, I believe that it is more likely to have drawbacks. On the other hand, it is true that playing solitary for children carries some benefits. The main advantage is that they can develop their concentration skills. When children play by themselves there is less distraction from other people, which enhances to work on one task for a period of time. As a result, this skill can be useful when children take entrance examinations and working places in the future. In addition, playing alone for children also grows their imagination. Since children image their works during doing solitary activities such as drawing and assembling blocks, these types of play exercise children’s imagination. On the other hand, I believe that the drawbacks of playing solitary for children exceed its benefits. Firstly, when children play individually, they cannot gain social skills. This is because children do not have opportunities to interact with others in order to learn social skills such as negotiation and cooperation. Consequently, as they reach adulthood, children will have trouble collaborating with other individuals including their colleagues. Furthermore, children’s personality will become self-centred. Since children do not experience arguing or accomplish with other people through group activities, they are always doing as they please, which create the people who do not care about others. In conclusion, although it is true that there are positive aspects with playing alone for children, in my opinion, the disadvantages of this way of playing outweigh the advantages when considering that concentration skill and imagination can be acquired by other activities aside from playing but children can only learn social skills from play with others.(293)