People who do not know how to use computer will become more and more disadvantaged. State the disadvantages and what action governments should take.

The use of technology is increasing day-by-day. The computer is replacing a lot of manual activities and hence learning computer is becoming far more important. In this era, if one does not know how to operate a computer, it will only prove to be disadvantageous. Knowing computer is need of an hour. In this essay, I shall discuss the disadvantages of not knowing to use a computer and a few actions that the government should take. There are several drawbacks of not using a computer. One of them is losing a job. Lot of tasks which were conducted by humans at work are now being carried out by computers. For instance, filing, calculations, recording data, emails etc. It has become the required criteria for applying jobs to have computer skills. It should also be taken into account that not using a computer will cost you time, money and energy. By using computers you can achieve multiple goals in a short span. For example, it would take 3-4 business days to send a letter via post, whereas you can send an email within 3-4 seconds. Also, not knowing computer skill will make you dependant on professional, who will again charge fees for doing the job. There are several measures that the government can take. Firstly, the government should organise low-cost seminars for those who are willing to learn computers. Also, few governmental forms and procedures should be made computerised. This will interest more and more people to learn computers. For example, there is a mandatory E-filing of Income Tax return in India. In conclusion, there are several negative points of not knowing a computer which can be overcome with the help of the government to a certain extent. I strongly recommend people to take initiative and self-motivate themselves to learn computers.