Todays some tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as Sahara desert or the antartic what are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Traditionally, people enjoy holidays or vacations to travel and learn more about other local cultures and activities. However, it has been seen that the new trend for travellers is to meeting places in though conditions, such as deserts and the Antarctic. Having a quality time in such extreme weather is not an easy task and presents mostly drawbacks, despite having some positive aspects. Firstly, being able to stay in a town that can reach negative degrees demands proper clothing, which could be an extra bill to spend while planning this type of travel. It is widely known the danger of being in low temperatures without certain types of clothes for protection. Thereby, this could bring a negative impact financially for those who prioritize saving money. Secondly, there are many activities that are not allowed during a specific season because of the risks of accidents. As an example of that, many health insurance companies increase their values during winter, due to the increased risk of health emergencies. Hospitals and clinics often claim that the number of frostbites during winter is increased and for that reason, brings more costs for local public health. In contradiction to that, there are some justifiable reasons for why people decide to take a risk in this kind of adventure, such as the opportunity to experience something totally different from their reality. Tropical countries are widely known for having an extreme summer, and undefined seasons. It is likely that people that were born in Brazil, for example, have not experienced a snowing day. In addition to that, there are many sports that are only practised in the winter, such as ski or snowboarding. To conclude, it is understandable why many people choose to experience different destinations to get out of their comfort zone. Nevertheless, the chances of getting injured for the lack of proper layers and the absence of some local activities in extreme temperatures shows that there the disadvantages outweigh the positive aspects.