Some people believe online reading materials should be only used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Technology has brought drastic changes in the way people read today. The online material has its own benefits which outweigh printed reading material. I believe we should start reading online because it is beneficial in many ways. On the one hand, the paper is processed out of pulp which is produced from trees. To produce a ton of paper twenty-four trees are cut down. And every year, millions of trees are cut down to produce the paper we use which is not safe for the environment. Eventually, it becomes the reason of floods due to soil erosion. Additionally, it is sometimes become difficult to carry books. Moreover, printed material requires more space for storage. For example, my cupboards are fully loaded with the novels I have read so far, but before ordering a new one, I have to check for proper space for an addition. On the other hand, eBooks are portable and lightweight, making it easy to carry around. For instance, I can carry thousands of books on my Kindle device anywhere. I can easily update the latest editions of the books available on my device. Moreover, these devices have read aloud feature which users can use while relaxing. Another merit is that we can learn different languages online. I have learned a new language using free online reading material on the internet. All in all, reading the materials available electronically is beneficial for us. To conclude, I would say that online reading should be preferred instead of printed books. It is our responsibility to save the environment by using less paper and saving trees.