Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

Throughout the last three decades, car ownership has shown an exponential increase. While I agree that the escalated traffic congestion results from the massive rise in having a private car, this issue can be tackled by the government through enacting laws to limit car ownership and improving public transportation. To begin, over the last thirty years, car possession has soared significantly; therefore, major cities have become one big traffic jam. Due to the convenience offered by private vehicles, many people prefer commuting by them to using public services. In other words, as their own cars provide them with the flexibility of time and destination unlike buses or trains, they use them on daily basis. Not only the convenience but also the affordability of cars at a reasonable price triggers the majority to purchase a private car. Nowadays, car prices have been reduced than before thirty years, besides many banks present many loans for buying a car, yet, in the past, cars were only owned by wealthy people. Nevertheless, governments can initiate strategic plans in order to mitigate the rise of cars ownership and congestion as well. Firstly, through imposing taxes on purchasing cars and fuel, many people will abandon using their private vehicles frequently. This is because they will incur the expense of fuel which is so costly in comparison with public transport. Another contributory solution is that were governments to allocate more money to improve the public transport system, people would choose them over driving. For instance, Singapore is reported to have the lowest congestion rates thanks to its well-established railway network. To conclude, although I believe that the convenience and flexibility of private vehicles spur people’s attraction to buy their own vehicles which worsens traffic congestion, authorities can lessen this situation by imposing taxes on fuel as well as new developments in the transportation system