Some people think that as long as professional sportsmen and sportswomen are good players, their behavior on and off the paying fields is not important. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that, as long as icons of the sporting world perform well, they should not be judged for their behaviour in their private life. However, I disagree with this position as, in today’s media-powered world, these people are role models to that are followed with consequential responsibilities thrust upon them, therefore their entire lives are in the spotlight. Critiques may say that unless professional sportsmen break the law, it is solely their personal matter what to consider appropriate in their private lives. Strictly speaking, if there are no legal fines or other punishment for moral misconduct, any behaviour should be acceptable and of no concern to others. A prime example can be a recent infamous party thrown in Las Vegas by some Russian footballers, while the whole country was in mourning as they failed to secure the World Championship. Whereas from a legal perspective, no law was broken in this case, such an event was considered morally impermissible as it tarnished the reputation of Russian sport as a whole. Being in the all-seeing eye of the media thrusts responsibility upon today’s sportsmen as every their every move can be copied mimicked by their followers, especially younger ones. Having achieved success and fame, celebrities of the sporting world have become modern icons to be worshipped and pursued by, many youngsters, consciously or not. Therefore, some instances of sportsmen’s questionable behaviour such as being insensitive or disrespectful, or even careless driving are raising social concerns, nowadays. Undoubtedly, sportsmen should not be expected to be saints as they tend to only mirror sins of modern society; however, it is increasingly recognized today that their behaviour off the field is no longer their personal matter. In conclusion, as a result, I believe that however outstanding one's sports performance is,their behaviour off the field matters as well. Like it or loath it, being famous thrusts responsibility of one's actions and therefore accountability towards society as one's life is thrown into the public domain, therefore do not agree with the statement given, that the behaviour of sportsmen both on and off the field is of no consequences.