Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's worlds is an ongoing debate among people about what sells faster: look or the quality of the service delivered by the employee. While there are arguements in favour of both, I believe that the quality matters most when it comes to the delivery of the product or the service. Some people believe that appearance sells faster, be it for a product or a service that is being offered by an employee of an organisation. This means that the employee working for the organisation should dress appropriately and smartly to convey the brand value of the company. For example, if a salesman from BMW brand is dressed casually, and he makes a salespitch to the prospective customer, the customer may not give proper attention to the salesman owing to his unprofessional attire. On the other hand, although an employee may not have a good dressing sense, he can utilise some of his other skills to enhance the quality of work. Taking the same example as above, the salesman can work on his communication and interpersonal skills to build a good relationship with the customer, and this will help him to increase the number of sales of the cars. Therefore, the organisation could benefit more if it focuses on quality of work produced than how well an employee dresses up. To conclude, although well dressed employees enhance the brand value of the company, in my view, it is the quality of work that attracts more customers, leading to an increase in the sales revenue of the organisation.