Nowadays many people complain about getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

One of the obvious causes of inability to sleep is work-related stress. In other words, employees that work round the clock without going on annual leave are more likely to be stressed and this would eventually lead to disturbed sleep patterns. To further illustrate this a study carried out by the University of Ibadan in 1998 in Lagos found out that 70% of employees suffer from mild to severe form of insomnia due to the stress attached to their jobs. Unfortunately, this is one of the reasons why some people lack good sleep at night. Furthermore, another reason is that some people suffer from underlying psychological disorders such as depression, anxiety, and panic attacks. Hence, these people are affected by hallucinations and suicidal thinking patterns which in turn disturb their sleep cycle. They develop these disorders as a result of being exposed to stressors that can trigger it. For instance, people that lose a loved one can easily fall into depression and this will definitely affect their sleep which will in turn affect their overall wellbeing. Despite the problems listed above, there are still two effective solutions. Firstly, companies should encourage their workers to practice work-life balance, therefore, employees should be encouraged to go on their annual leave. Hence, this will not only make them de-stress but also perform better at their official duties upon resumption. In addition to this, employers should also make sure their staffs go for an annual medical checkup so that early signs of stress can be easily addressed. Secondly, people suffering from psychological disorders should seek early medical help so as to prevent further deterioration of their condition. For example, a recent study carried out in 2020 by the American Psychological Association in Los Angeles found out that most patients suffering from mental health issues who got help early saw improvements in their sleep. Thus, this result implies that seeking medical intervention in a timely manner reduces the risk of developing insomnia. Conclusively, Insomnia can affect certain individuals in the society due to stressful work and mental health problems, but if they practice work-life balance and get early medical intervention, they will be much healthier and their sleep cycle would be restored.