International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this era of globalization, the world has become a global village due to accessible travel opportunities. It is thought by some people that international tourism is beneficial, whereas other schools of thought claim that the drawbacks of international travelling are more prominent on local people than its benefits. There are three major advantages of tourism. The first evident benefit is for more job opportunities. In other words, there would be a need for guides, hotels and restaurants, in turn, raise the demand of people and provide jobs for local people. Another reason that travel makes people tolerant of other cultures. As they encounter different cultures they tend to respect them and understand the values, which would make the world a better place to live. Last but not the least, it improves the economy. When visitors come, they bring in money and spend it, which would not only be beneficial for local vendors or hotels but also increase the influx of government revenue in the form of taxes. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having tourists. Firstly, it would mean a surge in the prices of property and commodities in nearby areas, which eventually causes inflation and affects people living there. Secondly, it would result in the rise of pollution, be it land, air or noise. As with visitors, places would become crowded means more littering. Also, they would use some kind of transportation and consume oil and fuel for travelling resulting in noise and air pollution respectively. However, a lot can be done at individual and government level to overcome the aforementioned issues such as organizing awareness campaigns on how to manage waste and how to deal with increasing pollution problems, also putting signages to not litter would remind them to keep the city clean. To encapsulate, while there are minus points to having international tourism, it is evident that merits clearly outweigh the demerits in the form of stabilizing the economy by creating jobs and acquainting people of different costumes and traditions.