Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

People in most of the developed countries on the earth are now using solar power in their homes to show their care for the environment. In this,we derive power from sun rays and turn them into electricity or fuel to run different kinds of equipment like electronics or cars. In my opinion, this is a great initiate and more people should switch to this. Undoubtedly, we cannot use all gadgets with this origin as weather conditions need to be favourable. For example, during rainy seasons we have to depend on traditional energy sources. Moreover, this technology is still growing and not that popular among people. Furthermore, the installation cost is quite high, so not everyone can afford it. Nevertheless, it is a sustainable source of energy which means it is not derived from fossil fuels, so this source is renewable as well. Moreover, like other fuels,it causes zero pollution and hence emit no harmful gases into the environment. For instance, we can even cook using the sun and there are even solar cars in the market. However, it is still not widely accepted due to many reasons like we cannot be 100% dependent on it. Furthermore, the government also provides an incentive to people who install solar plant on their house and promote various other programs and schemes related to this. To conclude, it is clear that positive points are quite more if compared to negative points. The only drawback is it is not reliable all the time, so in case of an emergency, if the weather is not sunny, we cannot use this origin if we do not have power stored. It is also predicted that this energy source will grow rapidly in future as we are continuously exhausting our non-renewable sources.