Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a lot of discussion regarding the best place to make a home. Most people prefer to live in cities than in the countryside because of all the things that bigger cities can offer. However, some people argue that rural areas are the best place to live due to the calmer environment that they provide. In my opinion, big centres are way more attractive than rural areas due to the variety of activities, events, jobs and places to visit. One of the advantages of living in bigger cities is the greater job opportunities of a variety of professions, in comparison with those who live in the countryside jobs are most of the time associated to agricultural matters. For example, individuals who decide to make New York City their home will be able to work in many different areas and for aa variety of companies. Moreover, for those who stay in rural regions, one disadvantage is that they face a lack of job opportunities. Consequently, these individuals end up working in only one career which is usually the agricultural one. In addition, a possible disadvantage of big cities is the type of life humans are facing nowadays, always in a rush, wasting a lot of time in the traffic jam. When comparing to the rural regions, lifestyle is calmer, there is no traffic and people can have a more relaxed type of life. For instance, in Sao Paulo, the biggest city in Brazil, rates of stress and anxiety are increasing in the population due to the style of their lives. Furthermore, people usually get stuck in traffic and are always late for their appointments. But, for those who live far from the city, rates of stress in the population are much smaller than in the city. Thus, the advantage of the countryside is the relaxed way of living and fewer rates of anxiety. In conclusion, there advantages and disadvantages in both ways of living. While in the countryside people are less anxious and more relaxed, the opposite of those who stay in cities, in bigger centres there are more work spots in any profession, which is not true for other places. Thus, it is more of a personal opinion and wishes the decision of the place to make a home, because any area will have positive and negative aspects.