In the past, people lived in one place for a long time, but now they can live in many different places, what are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the birth of the internet and modern means of transport, living in different cities or countries is a new trend. In comparison with the past, when people usually locate in a specific area for their life, the new lifestyle brings a lot of merits for human beings. There are two main purposes that promote the new lifestyle of living in many places. First, one of the most preponderant reasons is that the internet allows us to create jobs and work everywhere. More precisely, the agriculture dominant era has finished, and we do not solely depend on farming anymore. As a result, rather than staying on one farm to earn a living, people can migrate to metropolis or even other countries to reside. Second, compared with the 1990s, our means of transportation, like planes, trains or ships, allow us to travel more frequent, faster, longer distances at affordable prices. Therefore, many of us will not hesitate to travel around to explore new things. The benefits gained from travelling around and relocating in various locations are not limited to broaden our horizon but also make us more tolerant. More precisely, when we have chances to stay in different places, observe and experience new things, expand our knowledge, and understand deeply about ourselves and become open-minded. For example, people who have been to many places will understand that LGBT people are everywhere, and it is not a curse if we love a same-gender person. Therefore, the bad rumour coming from a middle-aged woman about how unlucky LGBT people are becoming nonsense. In conclusion, I believe that the internet and new means of transportation contribute to helping people travel around and reside in various places. From the personal-growth perspective, it is irrefutable that this new lifestyle helps more good than bad because it helps us become non-judgmental and wise.