Everybody should be allowed admission to university study programs regardless of their academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Securing admission in institutions, which are offering higher education, is usually determined by the academic abilities of students, which is why universities conduct entrance examinations prior to enrollment. Some people may think that all students should have equal opportunities when it comes to this matter regardless of their overall knowledge and skills. I totally disagree with this point of view, and believe that acceptance should be based on the academic capabilities of the students. To begin with, the main thing that identifies the qualification of a student to a university is his academic level. This is not unusual since most universities are comprised of colleges and departments which specialize in specific courses and programs which, therefore, allow only a limited number of enrollees. This is opposite to those schools, which admit all students. However, with this type of institution, some of its undergraduates may not be able to finish the entire course due to their insufficient academic capabilities. A good example of this would be some of my colleagues in Nursing school who were not allowed to push through their third year after they failed the qualifying academic and practical exams. Secondly, it is also important to take into consideration whether the course offers a limited number of slots for enrollees. Having said that, some universities set a list of criteria for admittance in order to reduce the probability of admitting applicants below the qualification level. Other institutes might also require specific qualifications especially for courses such as medicine which might only consider your eligibility if your class cards meet the necessary average mark. On the other hand, some people hold the view that all students should be allowed to enter universities. They feel that instead of focusing on academics, programs and courses should also put into consideration the other aspects of learning, such as practical knowledge. They also argue that academics can be learned and improved in universities, so it is not compulsory that a student should encompass a specific mark or merit in order to be admitted. To conclude, in my own opinion, admission to universities should be according to the academic capabilities of the students. Without it, our society will not be able to produce top achiever graduates who will soon contribute to the development of society.