Some people think that strict punishment for driving offences are the only way to reduce traffic accidents Some people think that strict punishment for driving offences are the only way to reduce traffic accidents To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this opinion? To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, rising road congestion are leading to humongous road accidents. I certainly agree with the view that the frequency of road congestion-related mishappenings can be decreased by penalizing everyone who breaks the driving rules. In this essay, we will understand how we can maximise the safety of the public by implementing strict driving regulations. Firstly, traffic accidents can be severe and can affect more than 1 vehicle. Since during traffic, the vehicles drive very close to each other, a slight ignorance while driving can lead to a major collapse of various motor vehicles. However, by implementing high penalties on the rule offenders, we can minimise the possibility of accidents. For instance, a few months back while returning back home a Maruti Suzuki car collapsed with a Tata Nano and as the driver of Tata nano was not wearing a seat belt, he got several injuries whereas the driver of Maruti Suzuki car was absolutely fine and some other cars also got dents on their body. Another reason could be that it will increase the awareness of traffic rules among the citizens which as a result will make them drive more responsibly. Moreover, as the traffic rules are not that strict, we see people driving over the suggested speed limit, they do not wear seat belts, do not get their automobile serviced periodically, do not carry essential documents and often uses their mobile phone while driving. All these practices can result in major mishappenings. For example, on Yamuna Expressway we see automobiles driving at a pace of more 100 kilometre per hour, which is dreadful for not only them but for other passing four-wheelers. To conclude, it is very evident that people these days have developed a habit of not following the driving rules which as a result can cost them their life. Therefore, imposing strict punishments on the driving offenders we can control the road-congestion related accidents.