Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is an ongoing debate among people about the benefits of information technology in our everyday lives. While there are arguments in favour of both, I believe that the advantages are more beneficial than the disadvantages. Analysing how automation assists us in home and at work will prove this. There is a deluge of argument to support the incorporation of technology in people's everyday personal and professional life. The foremost reason is, technology has made it significantly easier to manage the home activities. For example, a person can use the latest robot vacuums to automate the cleaning of the house. Now, the cleaning of the house can be taken cared for by an automatic vacuum cleaner, while I can relax and learn a new hobby online. Additionally, there are instant cookers that deliver a whole meal with the click of a button. Thus, machinery changed the way we juggle around our commitments. Furthermore, there are some work-related activities that became possible only due to the latest technology. For instance, during the times of current pandemic, the education of the school-going children has continued mainly because schools could adopt the new technological features into their lesson delivery methods. The education of millions of students across the globe would have halted, had it not been due to the availability of the latest technology in most of the homes. As a result, students could remain connected with their peers even though they were physically separated, and this was not possible without the advent of technology. In conclusion, even though some may argue that we are over-relying on the technology to live our lives, I believe that the advantages that it offers outweigh the disadvantages that it might have.