Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

In recent times, a lot of attention is being paid while designing workplaces such as the hospitals and the offices. The interior designers often refer to the scientific evidence by the psychologists to support their choice of design and colour combinations by claiming that certain colours have a tremendous impact on people's health and their ability to work. Some people believe that our psychologies are immune to colour preferences, but I shall explain that this is not true. Compelling arguments can be made that some colour schemes have a soothing effect on the human mind. In other words, when the environment of the hospital or the workspace is relevant to the psyche, it can enable the people to work efficiently. For example, if a children's hospital is decorated while keeping in mind the colour preferences of the children, the vibrant child-friendly environment will assist the child to calm down while he is in distress due to his illness. On the other hand, bright colours have the tendency to strain the eyes, and this in turn can cause the headache or the dizziness, which could affect people's work in that place. For instance, if a place, which is designed for yoga, has bright neon colours, it will not provide the right environment for people to meditate and experience calmness while practising yoga. Therefore, it is essential that the right colours are used in the interiors of the places to enhance its appeal. In conclusion, on the basis of the above discourse, I believe that the colours do have an impact on the health of the people and their working ability. Thus, it is necessary to consider the influence of colour choices on the people who would be working in that workspaces.