Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Given the advancement in technology in recent years, some people have questioned the necessity of physical establishments for displaying pieces of arts and artefacts. From my standpoint, I believe that computers and such places are of equal importance; therefore, I disagree with the statement and give reasons to my idea in this essay. It stands to reason why using technology as a means to admire the arts and learn about history is reasonable. The prevalence of technology, together with cheap access to the Internet, has made it possible for viewers from geographically-distant areas to see a time-honoured piece of arts and artefacts. Moreover, by joining virtual tours organised by the museum, visitors can take advantage of multi-media resources. The experience, as a result, would be more fulfilling since all the senses are satisfied and extra information for those who are curious are also provided. For example, a free virtual tour to Louvre Museum in France during the Covid 19 lockdown has given millions of visitors a once-in-a-lifetime chance to see the world-famous Mona Lisa without endless queues. A 360-degree view is also available when computers users use the mouse to click to the picture of the painting. Having said that, the role of brick-and-mortar museums cannot be questionable since it is not a source of income for its employees and local tourism but also a hub of interactive activities. If such places are closed down, this will drive hundreds of workers jobless. Moreover, the admission fee to art galleries and museum can generate great revenue for the host reason. Despite numerous benefits of virtual tours, there is one element that is lacking, which is interactiveness, especially between humans. Only by joining entertaining activities held at museums and art galleries will visitors be immersed in cultural and historical settings, which helps to arouse a sensation that online platforms cannot compete. In conclusion, despite the superiority of the technology in terms of accessibility, brick-and-mortar museums and art displays are still of paramount importance due to its economical and cultural values. Therefore, I believe the co-existence between online tours and offline museums and art galleries is desired rather than the scenario in which one's proliferation jeopardize the other's. An even more fruitful approach could be the collaboration between these two so that the dissemination of artistic, cultural and historical knowledge is greatly boosted.