Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A perfect methodology of teaching young ones has always been a reason of concern for parents. Moreover, kids these days waste most of their time seeing television for entertainment as well as educational purposes and I agree with the view, that televisions are not the appropriate means of teaching children and they, therefore, are affecting their studies. In this essay, we will understand some of the drawbacks of using television as a learning tool for kids. Firstly, the content shown on the television are generic and are not customized as per the requirements of a particular child. Since the television -media aims to cover thousands of audience at a time, its content is common which are made to be relevant for different age groups. In contrast, children require different teaching approaches at every stage. To illustrate, we teach colours to the little ones of age group 8 months to 1 year, we then teach them how to speak? between age 1 year to 2 years whereas on television, if we see, they show educational programs which are mostly stories which can be difficult to understand for an 8 months old infant. Also, children require practical knowledge along with the theory, which is beyond the limit of what television can offer. As children mostly learn from things they experience in real life, it becomes very essential to provide them with the opportunity to learn from real-life examples. For instance, at Kindergartens we see teachers doing role-play and acts while teaching so as to ensure that the child is able to learn what is mentioned in the books. Thus, usage of televisions as a learning tool deprives the young ones of having a practical exposure. To conclude, I concur that the usage of television for educational purposes can limit the learning of a child to the content shown over it and can deprive them of their specific learning requirements and the practical knowledge.