Some people believe that the best way to deal with heavy traffic in city centers is for privately owned cars to be banned, others however, think this is an unrealistic solution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt traffic congestion is a major concern in city downtowns. However, while some believe that this problem could be resolved by forbidding private cars from entering the centres, I think this solution is impractical and unfeasible. Firstly, the public is highly suggested to select public transport when travelling to city centres instead of using privately owned cars to alleviate heavy traffic. This is because there is usually limited road space in city hubs while the amount of passengers and vehicles could be tremendous. For instance, some cities advise commuters to use a park-and-ride service which allows them to park their vehicles at a transport connection and then take public transport such as trains and trams to go to the centres. The argument goes that if cars were banned from entering the centres, there would be fewer traffic jams. Nevertheless, I think stopping people from driving their own cars to the downtowns is an impractical idea for several reasons. First and foremost, many people may not have access to public transport, and driving by themselves might be the only possible way to get to city centres for work, study, or running errands. Secondly, driving one's own car in most cases is more time-efficient compared to using public transport as there seems to be more variations for the latter. For example, it is reported that travellers in Melbourne frequently encounter unexpected road modifications or changes in time when they take a train. Conversely, driving one's own car allows more flexibility and drivers can make adjustments in the face of unexpected situations. In conclusion, although getting rid of private cars in city centres might drastically reduce traffic jams, this is an unrealistic suggestion on the basis that travellers have to take into consideration public transport accessibility and time efficiency.