The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, buying products online has become second nature to many, not only in big cities but also in small towns. With the advent of internet connectivity, some would argue that online shopping will take over all shops in towns and cities. In my opinion, while it is true that online shopping has become pervasive, but shutting down all shops due to it is a far-fetched idea. Firstly, buying things online requires access to a reliable high-speed internet connection, which is still a long-shot for many in non-metropolitan cities. While there has been significant investment in network infrastructure over the past years, it has not been enough to sustain an online economy in smaller towns. Additionally, the lack of enough power, especially in rural regions, further affects internet connectivity. For example, despite the fastest growth of mobile phone adoption in India as compared to the world, internet penetration is still at a meagre 12%. The dearth of consistent internet connectivity still hampers the growth of online services in many cities. Another factor which moves the argument in favour of shops is the personal connection which they provide to local neighbourhoods. In other words, many people still prefer to touch and feel the products before buying them. Moreover, they like to ask questions to the shopkeeper about the items, which may be locally sourced in many instances. The ability to see and evaluate the products and chat with the seller is an experience still revered by many. For instance, while companies like Amazon and Flipkart have grown tremendously, in India they still run programs to use local shops and dealers for last -mile connectivity, a term they use to reach out to their remotest consumers. This only shows the influence of such shops in their local society. In conclusion, despite the popularity of buying things on the internet, physical stores will continue to stay as the trend of online shopping is yet to reach many due to infrastructure issues and many still prefer the experience of physical shopping from local stores.