In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

In the temporary world, a taste of classical music genre is less popular amongst millennials. The reasons are a change of music lover’s perception and demand for being financially and professional to perform this genre. Personally, it is pointless to encourage children to play or perform classical music. Firstly, there is an evolution of musical favour in the midst of individuals in this modern society. As a result of developing other genres such as pop or hip-hop music, younger people tend to dismiss the beautiful melody of a classical tune. Specifically, those modern genres reflect the reality of hectic lifestyle and originate from people of young age, so it is easy to wind the heart of the listeners. Illustrated by EDM festivals which is electronic music seems to be associated with today’s fast pace living whereas few people listen to the symphonic melody which is totally different from youth behaviour. Secondly, high requirements for being fluent in classical performance is a barrier for players. Classical musicians and performers have to be professionally and independent financially because musical instruments are very expensive, as well as training courses are time-consuming. That is why not so many young people can tolerate how difficult classical music is. For instance, a pianist is required to study for eight to nine years at the music academy, but an amateur can be easier to cover a pop song from his favourite singer. Subsequently, the invasion of today’s musical types and high requisite accounts for a downward trend of classical music Apart from its long-term existence, it is insignificant to urge young people to pursue classical music. Unless they have inner motivation, they will intentionally follow their musical interest. For instance, it is more essential to have a genuine passion rather than parental pressure. Otherwise, it will be counterproductive for forcing them to play because it is meaningless to compel someone to play a costly subject and onerous recreational activities To conclude, the majority type of music is prevalent in society rather than classical music. Due to its pricey equipment and a long period of education, it is unnecessary to incite the younger generation chasing it.